Lisette Model (1901-1983)

September 8 - December 2, 2017
Opening: Fri, September 8, 2017, 6pm-9pm

Galerie Berinson offers the unique opportunity to see especially rare Lisette Model photographies from the artist’s own estate.

Lisette Model, born in 1901 as Elise Amelie Felicie Stern in Vienna, is considered as one of the main figures of modern art photography. Her work influenced photographers such as Diane Arbus, Larry Fink or Nan Goldin.

Lisette Model enjoyed a luxurious, multilingual education and showed early interest in music. From 1920 on she studied music with composer and painter Arnold Schöneberg, who was her childhood friend Gertrude’s father, and singing with Marie Guntheil-Schoder in Vienna at the private Schwarzwald school. After her own father’s death, the family moved to France in 1926, fluctuating between Paris and Nice.

First, she continued her singing education in Paris, but decided in 1933 to become a photojournalist. One may only guess why Model decided to end her music career: maybe she thought she would never earn enough credit, was tired of music, or felt pressure to have to learn a trade to earn money. Even she neither disclosed the reason. Models younger sister Olga, herself a professional photographer, brought her the first steps. Also her friend and photographer Rogi André, André Kertész’s wife influenced her and showed her the handling of special reflex cameras.

In 1934 Model made her best-known photo series of the noble vacationers at Nice’s Promenade des Anglais, which 1935 appeared in Regards with a social-critical commentary, a magazine of the Communist Party. This series was criticized, but also brought immediate recognition to important photographers such as Berenice Abbott, Anselm Adams and Edward Weston.

In Nice she met the Russian painter Evsa Model, whom she married in 1936. Together they emigrated to the USA in 1938 where Model had contact with influential personalities such as Alexei Brodovitch, the art director of Harper’s Bazaar, or the photographers Ansel Adams and Berenice Abbott. In 1940 the Museum of Modern Art in New York bought first photographs of Lisette Model and exhibited them in a group exhibition.

Until 1952 Model worked as a freelance press photographer, her works were regularly published in Harper’s Bazaar, Cue, PM Weekly or Cosmopolitan. She photographed in New York’s bars, hotels and luxury restaurants, on the beach of Coney Island, the streets of Paris and Nice as well as on exclusive fashion shows. Also formalistic works such as the shop window reflections and running legs emerged. In 1952, she began a jazz photo series, portraying Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald among others.

In the mid-1950s, Model turned away from active photography, as American authorities ascribed communist activities to her, prevented new commissions, and paralysed her work. In 1949 she began to teach photography at the California School of Fine Arts and from 1953 at the New School for Social Research in New York City until her death. Her most famous students were Diane Arbus and Bruce Weber.

Lisette Model (1901-1983)

8. September - 2. Dezember 2017
Eröffnung: Fr, 8. September 2017, 18-21 Uhr

Die Galerie Berinson bietet die einmalige Gelegenheit, besonders seltene Fotografien von Lisette Model aus dem eigenen Nachlass der Künstlerin zu sehen.

Lisette Model, 1901 als Elise Amelie Felicie Stern in Wien geboren, ist eine der Hauptfiguren der modernen, künstlerischen Fotografie. Ihre Arbeit beeinflusste Fotografen wie Diane Arbus, Larry Fink oder Nan Goldin.

Lisette Model genoss eine luxuriöse, mehrsprachige Erziehung und zeigte früh Interesse an Musik. Sie studierte ab 1920 zwei Jahre an der privaten Schwarzwald-Schule Harmonielehre bei dem Komponisten, Maler und Vater ihrer Jugendfreundin Gertrude Arnold Schönberg sowie Gesang bei Marie Guntheil-Schoder in Wien. Nach dem Tod des eigenen Vaters ging die Familie 1926 nach Frankreich und pendelte zwischen Paris und Nizza.

Anfangs setzte sie in Paris noch ihre Gesangsausbildung fort, entschied aber 1933 Fotojournalistin zu werden. Es kann nur vermutet werden, warum Model beschloss, ihre Musikkarriere zu beenden: möglicherweise war sie nicht überzeugt genügend Anerkennung zu erlangen, war der Musik überdrüssig oder spürte den Druck ein Handwerk erlernen zu müssen, um Geld zu verdienen. Selbst hat sie das nie offenbart. Models jüngere Schwester, Olga, selbst professionelle Fotografin, brachte ihr die ersten Schritte bei. Auch die Freundin und Fotografin Rogi André, André Kertész’ Frau, beeinflusste sie und zeigte ihr den Umgang mit speziellen Spiegel-reflexkameras.

1934 entstand Models bekannteste Fotoserie über die Nobel-Urlauber an Nizzas Promenade des Anglais, die 1935 mit einem sozialkritischen Kommentar in Regards erschien, einer Zeitschrift der kommunistischen Partei. Diese Serie wurde zwar kritisiert, brachte ihr aber auch die Anerkennung bedeutender Fotografen wie Berenice Abbott, Anselm Adams oder Edward Weston ein.

In Nizza lernte sie den russischen Maler Evsa Model kennen, den sie 1936 heiratete. Gemeinsam emigrieren sie 1938 in die USA, wo Model Verbindungen zu einflussreichen Persönlichkeiten wie Alexei Brodovitch, dem Art Director von Harper’s Bazaar, oder den Fotografen Ansel Adams und Berenice Abbott hatte. 1940 kaufte das Museum of Modern Art in New York erste Fotografien von Lisette Model und zeigte sie in einer Gruppenausstellung.

Model war bis 1952 als freie Pressefotografin tätig, ihre Arbeiten erschienen regelmäßig in Harper’s Bazaar, Cue, PM Weekly oder Cosmopolitan. Sie fotografierte in New Yorker Bars, Hotels und Edel-Restaurants, am Strand von Coney Island oder den Straßen von Paris und Nizza sowie auf exklusiven Modenschauen. Auch entstanden formalistische Arbeiten wie die Schaufenster-Spiegelungen und Laufende Beine. 1952 begann sie eine Jazz-Fotoserie, portraitierte unter anderem Louis Armstrong und Ella Fitzgerald.

Mitte der 1950er Jahre wandte sich Model von der aktiven Fotografie ab, da ihr amerikanische Behörden kommunistische Aktivitäten unterstellten, neue Aufträge verhinderten und ihre Arbeit lähmten. Sie begann 1949 Fotografie an der California School of Fine Arts zu unterrichten und ab 1953 bis zu ihrem Tod an der New School for Social Research in New York City. Ihre bekanntesten Schüler waren Diane Arbus und Bruce Weber.