Ilse Bing (1899-1998): Photographs

April 13 - August 3, 2019
Opening: Fri, April 26, 2019, 12pm-9pm

Galerie Berinson presents a large exhibition with works by the important but somewhat forgotten photographer Ilse Bing featuring more than 30 vintage prints from the 1930s to 50s, her time in Paris and New York.

Ilse Bing was an notable photojournalist and commercial photographer of her time. She is known for her pioneering photographic techniques, and for being among the first to use electronic flash and to experiment with solarization technology. She focused on details and unusual perspectives.

Born to a wealthy merchant family first studied mathematics and Bing first studied mathematics and physics in Frankfurt, later art history at the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Vienna. During her dissertation she purchased a Leica camera for documentation purposes and discovered her passion for photography. In 1929 she dropped out of college and worked as a photographer – that she teaches herself in self study. With the Leica, this then new, handy and relatively small camera, Bing found her characteristic mixture of abstract form awareness and snapshot.

Although she was entirely self-taught, she soon received initial assignments for reports, e.g. from the weekly newspaper Das Illustrierte Blatt on the production of cider or on bicycle races.

From 1930, Bing lived and worked in Paris, where her work was exhibited alongside contemporaries such as André Kértesz, Brassaï and Man Ray. Further publications in German, French, and later also American magazines such as Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar supported Bing’s recognition as a professional and artistic photographer. 1932 Julien Levy Gallery exhibited her work alongside modern European photographers such as Moholy-Nagy, Tabard, or Henry, and Bing became finally known internationally as a photographer. 

In 1936, she was invited to New York City by Gallery June Rhodes and immediately touched by the city. Many of her most famous photographs were made during that stay.

In 1941 Bing and her husband, the pianist Konrad Wolff, emigrated to the United States. Her photographic activity gradually subsided. After 1959, she devoted herself only to poetry and drawing.

Ilse Bing died in New York at the age of 98.

Ilse Bing (1899-1998): Fotografien

13. April - 3. August 2019
Eröffnung: Fr, 26. April 2019, 12-21 Uhr

Die Galerie Berinson präsentiert eine große Ausstellung mit Werken der bedeutenden aber etwas in Vergessenheit geratenen Fotografin Ilse Bing und zeigt mehr als 30 Vintage-Abzüge aus den 1930er- bis 50er-Jahren, ihrer Zeit in Paris und New York. 

Ilse Bing war eine bedeutende Fotojournalistin und Werbefotografin ihrer Zeit. Sie ist für ihre wegweisenden fotografischen Techniken bekannt – gehörte zu den ersten, die mit elektronischem Blitzlicht arbeiteten und mit der Technik der Solarisation experimentierten. Sie fokussierte sich auf Details und ungewöhnliche Perspektiven.

Als Tochter einer wohlhabenden Kaufmannsfamilie studierte sie erst Mathematik und Physik in Frankfurt, später Kunstgeschichte am Kunsthistorischen Institut in Wien. Während ihrer Dissertation kaufte sich Bing zu Dokumentationszwecken ihre erste Leica Kamera und entdeckte ihre Leidenschaft für die Fotografie. 1929 brach sie das Studium ab und war fortan als Fotografin tätig – im Selbststudium bringt sie sich das Fotografieren bei. Mit der Leica, dieser damals neuen, handlichen und relativ kleinen Kamera, fand Bing zu ihrer charakteristischen Mischung aus abstraktem Formbewusstsein und Schnappschuss.

Obwohl sie Autodidaktin war, erhielt sie bald erste Aufträge für Reportagen, z.B. von der Wochenzeitung Das Illustrierte Blatt über die Herstellung von Apfelwein oder Fahrradrennen.

Ab 1930 lebte und arbeitete Bing in Paris, wo ihre Werke neben Zeitgenossen wie André Kértesz, Brassaï und Man Ray ausgestellt wurden. Weitere Veröffentlichungen in deutschen, französischen und später auch amerikanischen Publikationen wie Vogue und Harper’s Bazaar förderten Bings Anerkennung als professionelle und künstlerische Fotografin. 1932 stellte die Galerie Julien Levy Bings Arbeiten aus neben modernen europäischen Fotografen wie Moholy-Nagy, Tabard oder Henri, wodurch sie endgültig international als Fotografin bekannt wurde.

1936 reiste sie auf Einladung der Galerie June Rhodes nach New York City und war sofort von der Stadt fasziniert. Zahlreiche ihrer bekanntesten Fotos entstanden während dieses Aufenthalts. 

1941 emigrierte Bing mit ihrem Mann, dem Pianisten Konrad Wolff, in die USA. Ihre fotografische Tätigkeit ließ mit der Zeit nach und nach 1959 widmete sie sich nur noch der Poesie und Zeichnung. 

Ilse Bing starb im Alter von 98 Jahren in New York.