Günter Fruhtrunk (1923-1982): Paintings

December 20, 2017 - March 9, 2018
Opening: Wed, December 20, 2017, 6pm-9pm

Galerie Berinson presents selected works from constructivist Günter Fruhtrunk, whose large-scale paintings are now shown in Berlin for the third time only since his retrospective at the Neue Nationalgalerie in 1993. His works of colorful stripes, diagonals and lines are part of numerous collections and museums, such as the Paris Centre Pompidou, the Kunstsammlung NRW, the Munich Lenbachhaus or the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin.

After his high school degree Fruhtrunk studied architecture at the Technische Hochschule in Munich, but gave up after two semesters to join the army as a volunteer during World War Second. He suffered severe injuries, and could only alleviate his lifelong pain with severe drugs.
Already during the war, Fruhtrunk began to draw, especially landscape motifs. From 1945 to 1950, he studied privately under the painter and printmaker William Straube, who was a student of Adolf Hölzel and Henri Matisse. Fruhtrunk had his first solo exhibition in the gallery Der Kunstspiegel in Freiburg in 1947.

In 1948 het met Willi Baumeister, in 1949 Julius Bissier, who both introduced him to non-objective painting.
After several inspiring study trips to Paris since 1951, he moved to Paris in 1954, after having received a scholarship from the State of Baden-Württemberg and the Gouvernement Français in the same year. In Paris, he worked in the studios of Fernand Léger and Hans Arp. The lasting influence of both artists led Fruhtrunk to Concrete art.

In 1961 he received the Prix Jean Arp in Cologne and in 1966 the silver medal of the Prix d’Europe in Ostend.
In 1963 he made his breakthrough in Germany with a first major exhibition at the Museum am Ostwall in Dortmund.
From 1967 Fruhtrunk was Professor of Painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. In the same year he received the Burda Prize for Painting.

His participation in the documenta 4 in 1968 marks his status as an artist of German art history after World War Second. In the same year he also participated in the 34th Venice Biennale.

His best-known work is the plastic bag design for Aldi-Nord from 1970, which has been distributed millions by now: white stripes on a blue background. But this was less conducive to his career, since in the early 1970’s the proximity of art and commerce was considered disputed.

Fruhtrunk committed suicide in his studio at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts in 1982.

Günter Fruhtrunk (1923-1982): Gemälde

21. Dezember, 2017 - 9. März 2018
Eröffnung: Mi, 20. Dezember 2017, 18-21 Uhr

Die Galerie Berinson präsentiert ausgewählte Werke des Konstruktivisten Günter Fruhtunk, dessen großflächige Gemälde seit seiner Retrospektive 1993 in der Neuen Nationalgalerie erst zum dritten Mal wieder in Berlin zu sehen sind.
Seine Werke aus farbintensiven Streifen, Diagonalen und Linien sind Bestandteil zahlreicher Sammlungen und Museen, wie dem Pariser Centre Pompidou, der Kunstsammlung NRW, dem Münchner Lenbachhaus oder der Neuen Nationalgalerie in Berlin.

Nach seinem Abitur studierte Fruhtrunk Architektur an der Technischen Hochschule in München, brach das Studium aber nach zwei Semestern ab, um während des Zweiten Weltkriegs als Freiwilliger zu dienen. Dabei erlitt er schwere Verletzungen, deren lebenslange Schmerzen er nur mit schweren Arzneimitteln mildern konnte.
Schon während des Kriegs begann Fruhtrunk zu zeichnen, insbesondere Landschaftsmotive. Von 1945 bis 1950 lernte er Malerei bei dem Privatdozenten, Maler und Grafiker William Straube, der selbst Schüler bei Adolf Hölzel und Henri Matisse war. Seine erste Einzelausstellung hatte Fruhtrunk 1947 in der Freiburger Galerie Der Kunstspiegel. 

1948 lernte er Willi Baumeister und 1949 Julius Bissier kennen, die ihm die gegenstandslose Malerei nahe brachten.
Nach mehreren inspirierenden Studienaufenthalten in Paris seit 1951 siedelte er 1954 nach Paris über, nachdem er im selben Jahr Stipendiat des Landes Baden-Württemberg und des Gouvernement Français war. In Paris arbeitete er mit in den Ateliers von Fernand Léger und Hans Arp, mit dem ihn eine enge Freundschaft verband. Der nachhaltige Einfluss beider Künstler führte Fruhtrunk zur konkreten Kunst.

1961 erhielt er vom Kulturkreis im Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie den Prix Jean Arp und 1966 die Silbermedaille des Prix d’Europe in Ostende.
1963 hatte er seinen Durchbruch in Deutschland mit einer ersten großen Ausstellung im Museum am Ostwall in Dortmund.
Ab 1967 war er Professor für Malerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Im selben Jahr erhielt er den Burda-Preis für Malerei.

Die Teilnahme an der documenta 4, 1968, markiert seinen Stellenwert als Künstler der deutschen Kunstgeschichte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Im selben Jahr nahm er auch an der 34. Biennale in Venedig teil.

Seine bekannteste Arbeit ist das Plastiktüten-Design für Aldi-Nord, das er 1970 gestaltete und das bis heute millionenfach verbreitet wurde: weiße Streifen auf blauem Grund. Für seine Karriere war dies weniger förderlich, da in den frühen siebziger Jahren die Nähe von Kunst und Kommerz als strittig galt.

Im Dezember 1982 nahm sich Fruhtrunk das Leben in seinem Studio in der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München.