László Péri (1899-1967): Sculptures and Reliefs

January 10 - April 6, 2019
Opening: Sat, January 12, 2019, 6pm-9pm

Galerie Berinson is exhibiting sculptures and reliefs by Hungarian-British artist and sculptor László Péri, created between 1933-1950 in England. The works come directly from the artist’s estate.

Péri was born as Ladislas Weisz in Budapest in 1899. After an apprenticeship as bricklayer he studied sculpture in Budapest in 1918 at the workshops for proletariat fine arts where he got in contact with Lajos Kassák and other activists. After short stays in Vienna and Paris in 1919 Péri settled in Berlin in 1920. There he lived until 1933, created first abstract geometric reliefs and turned to making figurative sculpture in the late 1920s. 

Péri was one of the leading constructivist artists in Berlin in the early 1920s. Between 1922 and 1924, Péri’s sculptures were exhibited in Herwarth Walden’s gallery Der Sturm in Berlin alongside works by László Moholy-Nagy. Péri’s works were also depicted in the same-named journal between 1921 and 1927. In 1923 he exhibited a big three-piece composition at the Grosse Berliner Kunstausstellung, among contributions of El Lissitzky and van Doesburg. The same year Péri joined the German Communist Party (KPD). In 1924 his constructivist design for a Lenin tribute was shown at the first German art exhibition in Moscow. From 1924 and 1928 he worked for the Berlin city building office. From 1928, he gave up constructivist work and turned to figurative art. The same year Péri signed the manifesto of the Association of Revolutionary Visual Artists of Germany, which called for a revival of the idea of “proletarian culture”. He was also a member of Die Abstrakten (The Abstracts) and Rote Gruppe (Red Group).

In 1933 Péri emigrated to England together with his wife Mary Macnaghten. There he was naturalized in 1939 and adopted the name “Peter Peri”. Most of his works remained in Berlin and were destroyed. In England he was a co-founder of the Association of Artists for Revolutionary Proletarian Art, and had contact with John Heartfield. In 1939 he received the British citizenship and became a member of the British Communist Party. He was co-founder of the Artists International Association.

Since 1933, Péri has dedicated his sculptures and reliefs to the lives of the people of London, his groups depict everyday scenes of working-class life. He expressed his work in the new material concrete, which apart from artistic aspects was also cheap and easily available.

He received many commissions for the design of public spaces after 1945 and created decorative art mainly for common areas: schools, hospitals, housing estates.

Péri was a pioneer in using concrete for sculptures and specialized in architectural reliefs in colored concrete. He developed an own recipe for the used material ‘Péricrete’, a mixture of concrete with polyester resin and metallic powders.

Péri died in London in 1967.

László Péri (1899-1967): Skulpturen und Reliefs

10. Januar - 6. April 2019
Eröffnung: Sa, 12. Januar 2019, 18-21 Uhr

Die Galerie Berinson zeigt Skulpturen und Reliefs des ungarisch-britischen Künstlers und Bildhauers László Péri, entstanden zwischen den Jahren 1933-1950 in England. Die Werke stammen direkt aus dem Nachlass des Künstlers. 

Péri wurde 1899 als Ladislas Weisz in Budapest geboren und studierte nach einer Maurerlehre ab 1918 Bildhauerei in Budapest an den Werkstätten für proletarische bildende Kunst, wo er Kontakt hatte mit Lajos Kassák und anderen Aktivisten. 1919 verließ er Ungarn und siedelte nach kurzen Aufenthalten in Wien und Paris 1920 nach Berlin um. Dort lebte er bis 1933, beschäftigte sich mit konstruktivistischer Kunst und schuf erste abstrakte geometrische Reliefs. In den späten 1920er Jahren entstanden erste figurative Zementskulpturen. 

Im Berlin der frühen 1920er Jahre gehörte Péri zu den führenden Vertretern des Internationalen Konstruktivismus in Berlin. Zwischen 1922 und 1924 stellte Herwarth Walden Péris Skulpturen in seiner Berliner Galerie Der Sturm aus neben Werken von László Moholy-Nagy. Péris Arbeiten wurden zwischen 1921 und 1927 auch in der gleichnamigen Zeitschrift besprochen. 1923 zeigte er eine große dreiteilige Wandkomposition auf der Großen Berliner Kunstausstellung neben Beiträgen von El Lissitzky und van Doesburg. Im selben Jahr schloss Péri sich der KPD an. 1924 nahm er an der Ersten Deutschen Kunstausstellung in Moskau teil, für die er eine Lenin-Hommage im konstruktivistischen Design entwarf. Von 1924 und 1928 arbeitete er für das Berliner Stadtbauamt. Ab 1928 gab er die konstruktivistischen Arbeiten auf und wandte sich gegenständlichen Figuren zu. Im selben Jahr unterzeichnete Péri das Manifest der Assoziation Revolutionärer Bildender Künstler Deutschlands, die eine Wiederbelebung der Idee der „proletarischen Kultur“ forderten. Auch war er Mitglied bei Die Abstrakten und Rote Gruppe.

1933 emigrierte Péri mit seiner Frau Mary Macnaghten nach England, wo er 1939 eingebürgert wurde sich seitdem „Peter Peri“ nannte. Die meisten seiner Werke blieben in Berlin und wurden zerstört. In England war Péri Mitbegründer der Vereinigung Artists for Revolutionary Proletarian Art  und hatte Kontakt mit John Heartfield. 1939 erhielt er die britische Staatsbürgerschaft und wurde Mitglied der British Communist Party. Péri war Mitbegründer der Artists International Association.

Péri widmete sich in seinen Skulpturen und Reliefs ab 1933 dem Lebens der Menschen in London, seine Gruppen stellen Alltagsszenen des Arbeiterlebens dar. Er drückt sich im neuen Material Beton aus, der neben künstlerischen Aspekten auch günstig und leicht erhältlich war.

Nach 1945 erhielt Péri viele Aufträge für die Ausgestaltung öffentlicher Räume. Seine dekorative Kunst schuf er überwiegend für Gemeinschaftsplätze: Schulen, Krankenhäuser, Wohnsiedlungen.

Péri erschloss als Wegbereiter den Werkstoff Beton für die bildnerische Kunst und spezialisierte sich auf architektonische Reliefs in farbigem Beton. Er entwickelte ein eigenes Rezept für das verwendete Material „Péricrete“, einer Mischung aus Beton mit Polyesterharz und Metallpulver.

1967 starb Péri in London.